PDA

View Full Version : Planting seeds the right way in soil...

DoobyDude
24-03-11, 06:16 PM
I've been trying to find out the right way to plant seeds in soil to germinate them (not using paper towels etc) and everything I have read on here says that if you do use the paper towel method, then you plant the seeds tap root down in the soil.

However I found a link that says when you plant seeds in soil (not germed) you plant them pointy end up, so the tap root grows up and bends back round on itself.

Link is here (http://www.amsterdammarijuanaseeds.info/how-to-position-sow-cannabis-seeds-in-soil.html) with diagrams etc to explain.

Can anyone shed any light on the differing information, I'm a noob doing my first grow! :)

PS. What humidity should it be when your germing seeds in soil, my growDrobe is currently at around 30-33%, am I right in thinking it should be around 50% for the duration of the grow? (Autos)

Thanks.

Grub
24-03-11, 06:18 PM
Not sure why they say that in the link mate, i've always planted root-tip down as i'm sure most of the guys on here do. :)

bud_alzir
24-03-11, 06:24 PM
hi doobydude yes i always plant pointy end down but by nature/gravity will put the majority of seeds the opposite as that is the heavier part of the seed so yes most will do a u turn so to speak.all the best:)

DoobyDude
24-03-11, 06:30 PM
I guess it's the same with any subject, but cos I'm a 1st time grower and don't wanna mess it up right at the start, just as I get close enough to saying "OK I'm confident I'm doing it right", something else pops up and I'm back to square one LOL!

I have just popped one seed into some water, gonna try that with paper towels, but the other 2 I want to germ in the soil.
Maybe I will do one each way and see what happens...the more I read, the more confusing it gets! :)

Grub
24-03-11, 06:35 PM