Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: RDWC problems.....Any advice welcome!

Thanks

Post RDWC problems.....Any advice welcome!

Hi everyone,

So I'm relatively new to the RDWC world, I decided to give it a try after many,many,many months of research thanks to the like of Heath's Deciple, Sqydro, Hannibal and a few others (sorry i've forgot a few names). Although I felt confident enough to take plunge I seem to have fell somewhat short.

Be it beginner's luck, my first attempt at RDWC yielded the best results and it's been pretty much down hill from there.

I'm currently using 4 oxy dripper tanks (3 for plants 1 for main res) each fed by a it's own maxi jet 1000 (3 in total), with two 40mm waste pipe returns from each bucket to main res. I'm using a chiller for the day time and a nute heater at night to keep water temps stable at 19-20C. The feed to each tank makes a waterfall to create DO and I have also created another waterfall in the main res using the return from the chiller. The plants were vegged in 15 litre trays made for the oxy tank with drippers until the roots hit the res. For those that don't know the oxy dripper (or brummie bubbler I think its known as) is basically a 90 tank, from which you use about 40-50 litres of water then sit the 15 litre tray on top, water line is sitting about an inch up from the bottom of the 15 litre tray. The medium in the tray is clay pebbles. The water is changed every week to keep things fresh.

The plants are critical kush from seed, currently in 5th week of veg. Each plant has its own 600w light, I know this is excessive but I will explain why soon. I keep a daily check on ph and ec levels, ph being 5.8 and ec is at 1.3 at the moment ( background ec of 0.5). The nutes I am using is canna aqua as it's made for medium hard water.