Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice on compost bin grow

Henry_Haberdasher Guest

Lightbulb Advice on compost bin grow

Hi guys,

After much reading and pondering since discovering this awesome idea i've decided to give a space bucket a go. I love the whole CFL stealth grow idea and as a long time lover of the fine product this is my first grow so i'm approaching this as a complete newbie in that sense.

So, onto the bucket. I've got a 80L compost bin from B&Q that i'm going to adapt. I already have some second hand equipment I got cheap but it's too large for my current space so it's in storage but i've kept back a few parts. Mainly the brand new bulb and a couple of poles.

I've got a 6400k 125w Omega CFL in there giving off (please correct me if i'm wrong anyone!) either 5000 Lumens or 7500 depending on the website you cite. Also got 4 2700k 23w CFL's giving off 1500L each. giving me a grand total of 11,000 Lumens or 13,500 depending on your base figure for the 125W. It also covers both ends of the spectrum. I think this is a decent enough amount get an oz.

I'm going for auto blue mystic so I was trying to keep to the 2700k to keep it short but I inherited a 6400k big one so might as well use it too. I'm a bit worried about the stretch that the 6400k will give it given the small size of the container.
    I'm going to plant in soil straight into a 20L pot. I want to disturb it as little as possible. I will be definitely be trying LST since it's such a short container and potentially attempting a SCROG if i'm feeling bold enough.

I've got a few photos, mylar is on it's way so that's yet to do. but otherwise it's more or less there. I made a slide attachment on the side so I can raise or lower the 150w, it is also supported on by string just to keep it level and stable.