Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: HID Lights and seedlings

Thanks

Default HID Lights and seedlings

He all,

This is my first time growing autoflowers, hence the lighting question. I have 600 watt MH HID lights and my babies just opened up. I still have the domes over them and my lights are 24 inches above the domes. Is that too close? How close should the lights be once I remove the domes?

Thanks!

H420

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 5,755 Times

I would also be interested in this post as it would save buying a T5. I have read much advise which says get them under HID as soon as they show.

I will be using a dimmable ballast should I dim the 600 to 250 and bring it closer?

Mine won't be auto.

Thanks
    TB

3. The Following User Says Thank You to toblue For This Useful Post:

Hobby420 (29-11-16)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 61,761 Times

i made the mistake on my current grow of putting the 400w on them to soon. even when i did the back of the hand test and it was ok, they really did not like it i think maybe it was to intense to soon. so for me i will leave the T5 on them for minimum of 2 weeks, then introduce the big light.

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joker_the_smoker For This Useful Post:

Hobby420 (29-11-16), toblue (29-11-16)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Hobby420 View Post
    He all,

This is my first time growing autoflowers, hence the lighting question. I have 600 watt MH HID lights and my babies just opened up. I still have the domes over them and my lights are 24 inches above the domes. Is that too close? How close should the lights be once I remove the domes?

Thanks!

H420
    I've used a 400W HPS on my current auto grow from the get go, 8 weeks in now. But I initially had the light right at the top of the tent then lowered it as the plants matured. I didnt cover the seedlings with any kind of dome either. Just misted them everyday to keep the surrounding soil moist.