Thread: Germination problems

Thanks

Default Germination problems

Hi all I have recently been having problems germinating my seeds. I got some Ice seeds put them in water for 12 hrs then into damp kitchen roll. Temps been around 21 - 25 all 4 seeds have failed to germinate properly. 1 got tap root then died once I put it into rockwool cube. It's my first attempt at NFT never used cubes but can't figure out why I'm have probs with seeds.

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 39,741 Times

Jus put them straight in the cubes,soak the cubes with some rhizotonic
    An keep moist.

Autos
    Redemption Grow Take 2

Photo's
    Green lizard lick growing
    Exodus cheese exo-bition

THERE IS A STRICT 10 PLANT MAXIMUM RULE ON THIS SITE!.YOU WILL BE BANNED FOR BREACHING THIS!

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ERBURT For This Useful Post:

M_C (10-02-17), STEVSTER (10-02-17)

Viz Guest

Quote Originally Posted by ERBURT View Post
    Jus put them straight in the cubes,soak the cubes with some rhizotonic
    An keep moist.
    Totally agree with Erb. I tend not to faff around with seeds. Pop them into the cube/pellet or what ever you use to germinate from the get go and keep them moist, not wet, and warm.

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Viz For This Useful Post:

ERBURT (10-02-17), STEVSTER (10-02-17)

Thanks

Thanks guys I'll give it a go. I have a small propergator it's gets a bit warm maybe a bit too hot. What's the temps for germinating in cubes ?

Thanks

The biggest thing about cubes is to

1. Pretreat them with a low pH solution. I use 1/4 strength nutrient solution, but take the pH down to the 5.0 range and soak them for 3-12 hours.
    2. Don't let them be over-wet. A gentle-medium squeeze should not find a flood of water coming out of one. More than moist, but not soaked.

FWIW, i use this shape of Rw

(wont let me post link or image. RW # AX25/40)