Thread: How long to use T5 with seedlings in cupboard before switching to 600w HPS in tent?

Thanks

Default How long to use T5 with seedlings in cupboard before switching to 600w HPS in tent?

Hey guys & gals,

Not exactly new to growing, I have had a few successful harvests many years back but if I am honest I have smoked so much in the meantime I may as well be a complete novice again from what I remember so thought this would be the correct section for this post.

I have most of the bits I need, however I am looking to buy a new tent & the old 1 will be going down the dump, also am slightly considering to change lights & go down the LED route but think this could be taking a step backwards for an increased cost.

Anyway enough of me waffling on, the reason for this thread is to find out some info about the use of T5 grow lights. I have a brand new one I never got round to using & am planning to get underway with this for now in a cupboard, whilst I do some research & sort out a new tent.

So my question really is all in the title, I am just looking to know how long it will be ok for me to use the T5 lights in a cupboard without extraction etc, until I need to get them in their proper setup in the tent & most likely under the 600w HPS.

Any tips or suggestions in regards to this light will be greatly appreciated, as I say 1st time to ever use one, but I believe the best option for seedlings?

Thanks, FrostieNugs.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to FrostieNugs For This Useful Post:

Glynne (16-02-17)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 4,551 Times

I used a 4' 2 tube one for 3 months without extraction, just a circulation fan but out of necessity than choice.

I'd wait until you have 4 or 5 nodes and some good roots before firing up the 600. It's a bit of a waste of money on seedlings and a T5 does a great job. As long as it's nice and close you'll have a good structure and a root system capable of drinking well
    Too weird to live, too rare to die