Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How to silence exhaust

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 16,454 Times

Default How to silence exhaust

Hi all, been a lurker for a while but this is my first time posting. Basically after a little advice.

I've just finished building a soundproof box for my 4" rhino fan thinking it would cut down on the noise. Went way over the top... used green glue, acoustic sealant, 12mm mdf and 15mm acoustic drywall layers. Bungees in the box and flanges inside and out for the ducts. Now I'm scrapping that idea lol. Seems the fan's pretty quiet, it's the airflow through the CF and exhaust points that seem to kick out the noise. I'm setting up stealth and will have everything hidden along a 6 ft wall with a wall vent somewhere along the wall added. In front will be a fake wall situation.

I also tried a cheapie fan controller, but as expected, it makes the fan hum so won't be using it. The fan I have is way more than I need for the space so the CFM's more than is needed even on the slower speed.

I plan on perhaps upgrading the ducting I have to insulated (between CF (in the tent) and Fan (outside the tent), and then acoustic duct from the fan exhaust to the wall vent.... if I can find it in shorter lengths... most seems to be 5m minimum : /. May also buy "reducers" so I can use 6" ducting despite the CF and fan both being 4". My hope is that it slows the airflow a bit.

I am wondering however, if I should just build a simple 3' x 1' x 1' box to fill the gap alongside the tent (ten't also 3ft wide) to house the fan and exhaust ducting. Been looking at home made mufflers (chicken wire, bin, insulation etc) and now thinking on turning 2/3rds of the box into a muffler with an elbow bend in it to the wall vent. Would that work if I made sure the box was sealed well?

As I'm a newb and didn't want to go building something again that isn't fit for the purpose.

Welcome any feedback.