View Poll Results: In your opinion what is the most efficient light source when comparing gram per watt

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • HPS (specify which one on the thread)

2 16.67%
  • LED (specify which one on the thread, diy, etc)

2 16.67%
  • QBs or Cobs

5 41.67%
  • CFL

0 0%
  • Metal Halide

0 0%
  • CMH / LEC (specify which one on the thread)

3 25.00%
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: 2018 light efficiency ultimate battle

Thanks

Question 2018 light efficiency ultimate battle

First post in the forum. I’ve been growing for about 16 years mainly outdoor.*

Started indoor a couple years ago using 1000w’s HPS’s with magnetic ballasts. Later on I switched to 400w Phillips HPS with Lumatek electronic ballasts for efficiency.*

I’m seeing a lot of discussion and contradictory information on the efficiency of LEDs vs HPS vs CMH and I’m trying to clear the waters. If I’m making the full switch and investing a couple thousand I might be sure of what’s working better. I’ve seen side by side grows on forums and either some are poorly done without any kind of scientific method approach or they are biased. The cannabis industry is looking more and more like the fitness supplement industry with a lot of big brands marketing things with incorrect data.

In your opinion what is the most efficient light source when comparing gram per watt of dried weight? (Power consumption vs grams of dried weight)

Other factors and advantages such as heat emission, potency, cost of the equipment, etc are not to be compared. If some lights have better spectrum, etc is also not important. We will focus on gram per watt exclusively on this discussion and keep it focused around this subject.*

Let me know about your personal opinion, links to properly done side by sides, etc…

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aerorev For This Useful Post:

Gaz (27-08-18), GEORGE (27-08-18)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 62,510 Times