Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Taking clones question!

Thanks

Default Taking clones question!

Hey everyone.

So I've got a few decent harvests under my belt now, grew a few crops from clones and then had to move to seeds because I couldn't get hold of clones anymore..So I'm not a complete noob but I still have plenty to learn.

just starting a few seeds off now as it goes, 2 blue cheese and 1 pineapple chunk and I've got 3 blue cheese and 1 peyote critical just about ready for the chop, just waiting for the tichomes to turn.

So what I'm now looking into is, can I get into a cycle of taking clones off my next plants right before I flip them into flower and then do the same with clones when they're ready for flower and then just carry on in that cycle or is it a bad idea to take clones from clones?

ATM I've just blue petered a little box with a 125w cfl lamp in for seedlings but in the long run I'd like a small clone tent, obviously just trying to cut down the time a little between harvests

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BigJam For This Useful Post:

Blue (19-10-18), gardro (19-10-18)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 5,284 Times

Some say it’s ok others say the genetics weaken,I’ve done a lot of clones over the years and can say that you will be better with a mother plant instead of taking a clone from a clone and so on,they will root quicker the closer they are to the seed grown plant imo. To find a good mother it’s always a good idea to let your crop flower first ,then pic the plant with the traits you like then reveg that plant and turn it in to a mother.
    It's nice to be nice.

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Benson123 For This Useful Post:

BigJam (19-10-18), Blue (19-10-18), gardro (19-10-18), Valentina (20-10-18)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 37,976 Times

Yes you can take clones from clone plants before you flower each crop. However a mother plant would be a better option to preserve the genetics.