Thread: Problem with seedlings

Thanks

Default Problem with seedlings

Hey guys, first of all - Merry Christmas!!

Ok, so it's my first time in coco and I've also just switched to LED.

I've popped some autoflowers straight into the coco. I done this under the warmth of my MH, as the LED hadn't been delivered yet. And all of them popped as usual.

However, I switched to the LED when it came (on day 2) to start saving some electricity. But this dropped the temps drastically as my climate is cold during the winter months. And I noticed that the seedlings basically stopped growing, and the first set of leaves on one of them are coming through very light (from my experience with seedlings). So I marked this down to temperature, as I'm now on day 5 with no real progress (they still look 1-2 days old from my experience).

So I bought a tube heater, I left it in overnight but it was clear in the morning that it wasn't going to be enough to raise the temps in my 4x4 tent. The ambient temperature was hovering around 18-21 degrees. But the moist coco felt colder to the touch. So I'm going to return that tube heater and get something more powerful on a thermostat - any recommendations? Right now I've switched back to the MH, to keep the temps up.

The base EC on my tap water is 0.2. For first wetting the pots, I used plain water. Second feed, I raised it to 0.3. And when I seen the colour of the one seedling that I mentioned, I raised it to 0.4 and fed again. I've been watering at a PH of 5.6-5.7 so far, based off the info in the-limey-digit's simple coco guide.

So anyway, those are my conditions. And as I say, I'm marking the slow growth down to the temperature - Do you guys think I'm right? And If so, how long should I expect to wait until the growth starts again? I wasn't expecting a delay but the temps have been fixed for close to 24hours now without any visible improvement!