Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Sprout Stopped Growing - New Grower

Thanks

Question Sprout Stopped Growing - New Grower

This is my first time growing so I need a little help. I have three sprouts and two of them are about 3.5 inches and they are growing fine and the third one was growing good and it reached about 1.5 inches and it just stopped. It is in an 18 inch pot and the others are in plastic cups but i didn't think this would be an problem because i thought i would have to transplant it then but maybe this is a problem. the sprout has a light dark green leaves and all of the sprouts are in scotts potting soil and the temp in the room is about 78F and the soil is moist and not over watered. the light is probably about 18inches from it, i moved it back farther to see if the plant would stretch and it didn't seem to do anything. maybe is it just a slow grower? I'm new to this so any help is appreciated!

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 6,061 Times

does just sound like a slow grower,when did i seem to stop growing(how many days since it last did out)and what light are you using on them?

FZjb Guest

how old are they?

new seedlings will sprout and then slow right down for the 1st 2-3 weeks while they build a root system up, the once they done that they will then start to"veg" and go mad

Thanks

i dont kno if this helps but i have seen to notice when i start a seed in a bigger pot it seems to take awhile longer than if in a 8oz cup but i believe fazed theory about it building up a root system and being that it has alot more room to stretch, its probably doing that and i imagine you should see results in a couple days-week at most, on the other hand the plants in the cup always seem to take off faster above the root, id get ready to transplant the plants in the cup now that they are up and growing

Thanks