Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: She is not happy... (DWC/Bubbler)

Thanks

Default She is not happy... (DWC/Bubbler)

Hi Guys,

I have a bit of an epic tale for you, it is my first attempt and is full of many bad judgments/decisions, so it may not be surprising that my baby is not looking happy. It there anything I can do to get back on track?

Please forgive the poor photo quality...

I received a White Rhino cutting in rockwool 2 months ago, it had 5 nodes and I immediately put it in a vegetable potting mix. While doing so we had a severe storm and I nearly lost her there and then. I did the google thing and quickly resolved to set her up indoors using DWC. Done on the cheap ($100AUD) and in one frantic hour before the stores closed, the setup is as follows:

-1x80L Rectangluar Storage container:
    Opaque gray and wrapped in Aluminium Foil, I have cut a hole in the lid where a basket sits to suspend the medium over the reservoir.

-1x10L Round bucket:
    Black, this sits inside the storage container as the reservoir until it is too small at which time the storage container itself becomes the reservoir. This was to save on resources.

-Basket/Medium:
    The cutting was received in rockwool, which I washed as throughly as I dared after I changed my mind about the soil. This is surrounded by expanded clay balls in a plastic basket which was actually a pool filter basket but suited the purpose and was a fraction of the usual price.

-Water heater:
    Standard tropical fishtank heater, keeps the water at at least 21C.

-Air pump:
    Blue Planet TW400:-
    Double outlet - Fed into one circular air stone
    4.0 watts
    4.5 lpm
    0.014Mpa

-Nutrients
    Rapid Platinum Grow A+B: http://www.simplyhydroponics.com.au/NutrientsAAndB.html