Thread: Nft trays, my ph keeps rising!

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 3,495 Times

Default Nft trays, my ph keeps rising!

I.ve been growing for quite a while now but this is my first time in hydro i'm using 2x nft trays. I'm ec stays at 1.3 but my ph keeps rising from 6 to 6.8? Why is this? And my cuttings are about 2weeks old is 1.3 ec too strong? When i got the cuttings they were in peat pots so i banged them into the rock wool cubes and placed them in the trays, how long will they take to root out of the cubes? The strain is blue berry if it makes a difference. Thanks!
    "Smoke dog baby. Remember that shit. I been smoking since I was two."

Thanks

your cuttings should be left to root out before you put them into the NFT tray.....theres a liklyhood the blocks will now become over saturated
    in ideal conditions your blocks should root out in around 7 to 10 days

with NFT (and any other large volume nutrient storage system) its important to regualrily check and adjust the Ph of the nutriant tank, its normal that the Ph will vary....its your job to keep it at the optimum levels with regulator additives

Thanks

What shall i do then? Take them out of the tray and leave them to root with out the tray and hand water them?

Thanks

well thats what i'd do......before the over saturated blocks rot what roots you do have in there

Thanks

mate im not to sure how you have gone about your task but i have grown nft and the object is to get the roots outside of the cube before putting into the system.

leave the white wrapper on the rockwool as this forces the roots to grow out the bottom

id say 1.2 is high and would start at 1.0 then monitor the res to see if ec goes up or down if it goes down increase the nutes if it goes up decrease the nutes

when you water rockwool dip the cube into the soloution from the bottom the rockwool will suck up the water dont feed the cube from the top

cheers
    Last edited by skotty; 01-02-10 at 11:29 AM.
    MI5 AND ONYX BUBBLER STYLEE