PDA

View Full Version : I'm a total rookie. Can you help me, please?

Yossarian
03-07-09, 10:06 PM
So I've decided to grow myself a little bit of smoke (I smoke for a long time ~15 years (half of my entire life), but because of the crisis (jobless plus very bad health condition) and because I live in Eastern Europe - no $, so I have to grow if I want to smoke).

Here's my setup - 2 sections for growing. Each one is 61(W)x77(H)x36(D). I know it's kinda small. Inside I painted it all white. Since professional lights are very expensive here, I'm going to use energy saving bulbs and one fluorescent (calculated what I need, I hope 3 energy saving bulbs (or 2 energy saving and one fluorescent) per section, each ~5500K-6500K, ~1500-2000 lumens will be enough). I already prepared space for 3 plants per section. I already have found hydro nutrients (HESI brand, it's not very expensive) and pH regulators plus some vitamins and pH tester. Cooling is done by modded PC power supply with a bunch of coolers (2 coolers per section in/out). For soil - keramzit clay pellets. Also I dug up tons of material and guides on how to grow, clone, etc, but I still have a couple of questions:

1). Which type of seeds is better for newbies (indica/sativa)?

2). When it reaches the top of the growbox - shall I just cut and apply ointment?

3). When I got rid of all male flowers - I just leave it to grow and that's it (when to do it)?

4). Can you list some common mistakes, so I won't do them?

5). Anything missing in my setup (remember, I'm very low on $)?

6). When do you harvest it?

7). Best ways to clone it (our po-po's are very bad, getting seeds off the internet is rather a touchy matter here)?

8). What is the best strain for small growboxes?

9). How to deal with the smell (incense or what)?

10). Shall I use one section for cloning, another for growing? I'm asking this, because I've got an old PC ATX case and I can turn it into another grow box for clones (will it be enough)?