PDA

View Full Version : am I over watering

stoneroz
08-04-08, 12:38 PM
Hey guys and gals.
I was looking for some advice on the matter of over watering.
I am a newbie at growin'. I ran into problems when I switched medium to coco. See I was growin in soil before, and I think I'm getting a little paranoid about letting the roots dry out in their new medium. The coco isn't keeping as moist as the soil, so I end up giving the plants in coco almost twice as much water as the plants in soil.
Anyway, heres a photo of the over watered suspect, see how the tips of the leaves are drooping. Does it look over watered, the temps sre 22-25C and the RH is 60 percent.Thanks for your input.
https://www.thctalk.com/gallery/data/500/medium/sweet_tooth_little.JPG

JPS
08-04-08, 03:39 PM
Droopy tips but on the whole they look fine mate, you'd soon notice if you had over watered them.

Diaper
08-04-08, 04:27 PM
Was that picture taken just after lights on? They often look a bit limp during dark periods, as that doesn't look like a case of overwatering.

The only experienced coco grower I know here is Happy Potter, you might like to drop her a pm, as I'm sure she'd run you through her waterig/feeding regime;)

stoneroz
08-04-08, 06:13 PM
thanks guys. The lights had been on for 4-5 hours. The RH is 60 percent, do you think that has anything to do with it?

organix
09-04-08, 07:45 AM
Hey stoneroz heres some very indepth info on watering coco:

Cocopeat and Watering:
In Hydroponics today, Cocopeat or Coconut Coir is now commonly being used by a large variety of gardeners. Over the last couple of years it has grown in popularity to the point that it rivals other systems in its use. As popular as it is however, it presents unique problems when compared with using inert media such as expanded clay.