PDA

View Full Version : Help a ventilation noob pls

Wolfcree
24-02-11, 10:06 PM
Hi, I'd say that my growing knowledge is quite good, however when it comes to ventilation i'm a total noob! Have about 10 successful grows under my belt already but they were all done in my old house where the walk in cupboard i used was well ventilated enough that I never had to bother about extraction/intake/cf etc.

I have recently built a makeshift tent in my new house but I just know I'm not going to get away with using no ventilation here, problem is that no matter how much i read on the subject (on forums and on shop sites) it just all goes over my head lol.

My space is 1.2x1.5x2.2m and i'm using a 600w HID and the old faithful 18" oscilating fan, I also have one vent in the top corner of my tent leading straight outside.
I know this vent is to be used for extraction but have no idea of the type/size of fan and carbon filter i need to use.
And as for intake i have no idea period!!

Any advice or suggestions would be most welcome... thanks :)

cocogrower
24-02-11, 10:19 PM
I would go with a 6" (150mm) extraction, Run it at about half speed in winter, It should be plenty for them hot summer days.. Maybe use a passive intake in the winter but come summer I would think about getting a 4 or 5" intake

Ruck, RVK fans are best (forget TT fans).. Rhino carbon filter is a must.

Wolfcree
24-02-11, 10:42 PM
Hey thank you so much!! I just checked and my local growshop have the RVK fans for reasonable price, they have two versions of each size though.. RVK 150 A and RVK 150 L the 2nd one is a bit more expensive so I guess its somehow better. As for the Rhino filters they stock them too but not sure which one i'd need, i think either 150x300 or 150x600? any idea's on that?

For the intake would it be another RVK fan? and would I need to have it hooked up to outside, like a window or just from my room feeding into the tent?