PDA

View Full Version : Anyone into astronomy / telescopes?

FordCapri
01-09-11, 08:57 PM
Just picked up this bad boy up earlier today. Its a Bresser Skylux NG

Got its second hand pretty cheap but its like brand new. Everything is in working order as far as I can tell. Was looking at some buildings way off in the distance earlier and the image was pretty good.

Total noob when it comes to these things tho. First time I have owned anything like this.

Looking for any advice or pointers on where to start :)

Cheers

up2nogood
01-09-11, 08:58 PM
nice..I would love to look out of a very powerful telescope..1 meter lens..

teutonic
01-09-11, 10:07 PM
Bresser Skylux NG

Looking for any advice or pointers on where to start :)

Cheers

yo fc.

You might want a moon filter for moon studying. ( google it ) I advise getting the free and awesome 'stellarium'.

Put your local co ords in when its installed.

Use your compass to match your real life direction to the stellarium view. What you see on the pc can now be sought with the telescope:
http://www.stellarium.org/img/screenshots/0.10-planets.jpg
http://www.stellarium.org/

Forest
01-09-11, 10:23 PM
look like sth a sniper would use , ive always wanted a telescope , (didnt get one cos i might be come a peeping tom lol )

cool thing to buy your self happy telescoping / Stargazing / peeping lol

FordCapri
01-09-11, 10:24 PM
Hey teutonic

Cheers for the info mate. Its got one of them moon filters already. I didn't know that's what it for for tho lol :)

That stellarium program is the mutts nutts. Just installed it and had a quick play around. Very cool indeed. Much easier to use and understand than some of the other sites/programs I have been looking at.

Do you do much star gazing yourself?

up2nogood
01-09-11, 10:25 PM
is it hard to keep the scope still? tiny things (stars far far away tends to move about a bit) lol

FordCapri
01-09-11, 10:29 PM