Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: Alex's Extract Tek

Thanks

Lightbulb Alex's Extract Tek

Hello fellow cannabinoid lovers! I am fairly new to this forum, but am a veteran in the cannabis subculture. I have been making oil for over 10 years now and have tried many different methods. Started out with ISO oil and after a while, got sick of black oil, and I didn't like the chemistry behind the extraction. I also discovered how dangerous a critical solvent extraction can be. From my experience, using butane as a solvent with the proper extraction tool can be a quick, efficient way to make a very potent cannabis extract. With a little tweaking, one can gain many different consistencies to their finished product.
    Here we go!

Yesterday I decided to run around 10-15grams of bottombag/popcorn buds. I made sure that the product was crumble dry beforehand.

Materials needed are.
    -Desired amount of buds/bottom bag/trim.(ex. buds=10% return) The extraction ratio will change depending on the medium used, and if one prefers using whole or crushed up buds.
    -Butane(Only certain brands will do, no camping butane, and dont give up, most smoke shops will have high-grade butane. I usually either use colibri or Xikar. Look for a "NEAR ZERO IMPURITIES) label.
    -Hose clamp(s). These are for fastening your filter to your extraction tube.
    -Extraction tube. There are many kids, Most people either use glass or stainless steel these days. I cant believe people used to use PVC pipe or those plastic ones. I just wouldnt risk it.
    -Unbleached coffee filters(not the cone kind). I usually double up, and place on the end of my tube after it is filled. Then i fasten fairly tight-just enough so that it wont slip off from the pressure built up by the butane.