Thread: Growing your own seed reserves

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 2,169 Times

Default Growing your own seed reserves

Hi guys,

Hope you're all well!

I was watching a youtube vid by a lovely old timer called 'Chef Derek Butt', and he was harvesting his plants. With the first plant he cut the top of the plant off just above the bottom few branches and said he was leaving those branches / buds to grow seeds for later.

How does that work then??? lol

Seems like a great idea to keep some seeds in reserve for a later date. Also if it was from a femi plant, would the seeds also be fems?

I'm not experienced at all but Ive not come across that one before and Im intrigued

Thanks peeps

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Erby For This Useful Post:

GEORGE (28-11-18)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 26,740 Times

It sounds like he was going to let his plants hermie & attempt to produce seeds. If he lets them hermie that late, the seeds could be unusable due to the plant being close to the end, but, saying that, he could have kept it alive long enough to produce viable seeds. There are far better ways of making seeds, if you would like to know, feel free to ask.

The seeds produced wouldn't be fems, to make fem seeds requires a different process

"Bees don't waste time explaining to flies why honey is better than shit."

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Loki For This Useful Post:

British green (28-11-18), Erby (28-11-18), Gaz (29-11-18), GEORGE (28-11-18)

Thanks

Thanks for taking the time to reply mate, much appreciated

How does make it go hermie then, just keep it going on the 12/12 or do you need to do something else? I suppose I liked the idea of taking some seeds if I was impressed with how the plant had grown etc.

I presume if you want seeds then you just plant a batch of regular seeds, flower the ladies and grow the males seperatly somewhere and wait for the seeds??

6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Erby For This Useful Post: