Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Shade

Thanks

Default Shade

Question for the outdoor growers, I've always grown indoor and this is my first time out so bear with me...

What I want to know is if the sun is completely blocked but the sky is still visible to my plants, are they photosynthesising? In my case at a certain point in the day a building blocks my grow, which isn't an issue because the plants are in 13-14+ direct sunlight, however I want to force flowering and have built a screen to fit over my polytunnel. I plan to cover the plants at 19:30 each night and uncover them when the sun has completely set (anytime after 21:30).

The reason I ask about the plant not having direct line of sight with the sun, blocked by the building, is because if they are effectively in a period of dark due to this is there any need for the shade?

Cheers for any input!

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to IanBeal For This Useful Post:

GEORGE (13-07-19), ToughCall (29-07-22)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 14,808 Times

Quote Originally Posted by IanBeal View Post
    Question for the outdoor growers, I've always grown indoor and this is my first time out so bear with me...

What I want to know is if the sun is completely blocked but the sky is still visible to my plants, are they photosynthesising? In my case at a certain point in the day a building blocks my grow, which isn't an issue because the plants are in 13-14+ direct sunlight, however I want to force flowering and have built a screen to fit over my polytunnel. I plan to cover the plants at 19:30 each night and uncover them when the sun has completely set (anytime after 21:30).

The reason I ask about the plant not having direct line of sight with the sun, blocked by the building, is because if they are effectively in a period of dark due to this is there any need for the shade?

Cheers for any input!
    Yes the cloud will not block UVA + UVB etc. You still get a tan on a cloudy day for instance.