Thread: Very hard water in coco - which nutrients and feeding strategy

Thanks

Default Very hard water in coco - which nutrients and feeding strategy

Hi,

Newbie here - just potted my first auto (wedding cheesecake auto) seedlings and they're currently on (pH corrected) tap water with Rhizotonic. Straight off the tap my EC meter is reading ~.75, which is crazy high, due to this, I was planning on keeping the seedlings just on tap water and Rhizotonic for the first week or so.

Past this first week, I have an important decision to make - which nutrient line to use and feeding strategy. I have Canna Coco A&B and GH Tripart Flora series at my disposable to use. This gives me two options (I think):

Option 1- Canna Coco A&B supposedly have enough CalMag to support the coco growth, which most likely would be a problem when combined with my current tap water. I could potentially mix my tap water with demineralized water and bring my EC down to ~.4 (which Canna considers normal water as per their feeding charts and growth guide) and just use their schedule as guideline.

Option 2 - Tripart Flora has little CalMag compared to Canna Coco A&B, hence the usual need to add this on the side. I could potentially use these nutes and only add CalMag if any deficiency starts showing, but I would still have a really high EC to start with, giving very little room to add nutrients. Or can I assume that since I'm not adding any CalMag on the side, I can just stick to recommended feeding doses?

Anyone with experience in any of this scenarios that can let me know if this makes sense or not? I'm almost tempted to run both options at the same time and see which plants behave better, flushing the medium in case of problems with one option and going with the other one...

Cheers

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Crash3r For This Useful Post:

GEORGE (02-06-20), Jingo (02-06-20), Mac (02-06-20)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 58,142 Times