Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Digital ballast

Thanks

Default Digital ballast

Hi. I’ve got a Parlux 1000w digital light fixture and I’m having an issue with it turning on sometimes.

I had a timer plug, one with the notches you push up and down depending on when you want it to come on or not and it worked a couple of times then stopped working so I bought new ones. These are digital and have been working fine. The other day I was waiting for the light to come in and a little led started flashing and it came on about 3 minutes after the set time, yesterday when I checked the tent an hour after lights on and they weren’t on. I switched it off and on on the plug and it came on.

Is this a common issue with light fixtures with ballasts? I’ve never used on before and as I’ve swapped plugs then it’s gotta be the light.

Any input would be great.

Cheers

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Justeatit For This Useful Post:

GEORGE (16-06-20), Lowrollerbean (16-06-20), Mac (17-06-20), MrC (17-06-20), The Solyom (22-06-20)

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 3,830 Times

If you're running a ballast, directly into a plug in timer, you are risking life and death mate.
    Buy a contactor. The plug in timer cannot handle the high draw at lamp ignition so the electronics fries. Even though the rated load may be sufficient, it's the surge at lamp ignition that's the issue. Contactors negate this risk, but require 2 plug sockets.
    I even think they have heavy duty plug in timers, have a Google
    When you do things right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all.

4. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to prime For This Useful Post:

GEORGE (16-06-20), Justeatit (17-06-20), Mac (17-06-20), MrC (17-06-20), Muttz (17-06-20), M_C (16-06-20), The Solyom (22-06-20)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by prime View Post
    If you're running a ballast, directly into a plug in timer, you are risking life and death mate.