Thread: RDWC & How and when to change water

Thanks

Default RDWC & How and when to change water

Hi, Im new to the hydroponics system and my plan was to change the water every week. I have a rdwc system. I have an issue though with changing the water out. I can drain about 80 percent of the water through the resivoir but it still leaves a lot of water in the buckets themselves.I would say if you add up the six buckets it probably has a total of a gallon left over or more that i cannot get out. The new water would obviously come in and rinse it out but that would be left over residue from the old water before. Would this be ok if i can not get this water out? and continue to do the water change with this left over water at the bottom of the buckets. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DREX121 For This Useful Post:

Farmer Geddon (12-09-21), GEORGE (11-09-21)

Thanks

What is your total system capacity? Generally you want to top it off daily. Once you have added your starting amount, time to do a res change. Example, if your system has 6 plants, 10 gallon res, 5 gallon buckets and plumbing, you have about 45 gallon capacity. Once you have topped your system off with 45 gallon of water and extra nutrients, dump it all and redo it. I dont see 6 plants using 45 gallons of water every week.

Another example is my system. It has 6 netpots in a single 30 gallon tote. I made the batch of nutrients on August 29th. I have only had to add around 14 gallons of ro water total so far. I keep my ppms low, so im topping off more frequently than others.

As to the water left in the buckets, its fine. Just make sure you get all the sediments out of it before you top it off, if there is any.

I wont ever dump and refill my entire system due to having a larger holding capacity. I can veg for 2 months with this tote by simply topping it off. I can also flower for 2 months in my new system since it has almost triple the capacity of my veg.