Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Insulation question

Thanks

Default Insulation question

Hi guys not sure if i am posting this in the right forum as i am a newbie here but what the hell if i am in the wrong place i am sure one of you nice chaps will point me in the right direction.Anyway i am about to start my first grow soon in my loft and would be grateful for any advice regarding insulation.I have recently had my roof relaid with new tiles and membrane so i know i have no holes in my roof but what i want to know is how well insulated i need to make the roof.I was planning on using the glass mineral wool stuff that comes in the big rolls between the rafters in the roof and then was planning on putting a layer of airtec insulation over the top of that, stapled to the rafters.any tips guys on wether or not this would be sufficient insulation to keep me concealed from any unwanted attention from police choppers.?Any help or advice would me much appreciated.

Thanks
    Been Thanked: 1,743 Times

King span or cellotex has a higher insulation factor than mineral wool and is easier to fit between the rafters.

I've got 45mm in my shed that works ok for my grow (but I'm only running 250w)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Mr_Bimble For This Useful Post:

d-green (28-05-13)

Thanks

+1

I increased the depth of my rafters to 100mm, fitted 50mm Celotex between the rafters to take it flush and then another 50mm over the top. You can seal the gaps with aluminium tape. On top of that I fitted 12mm ply and then mylar over that.

Then all you need to do is make sure you have good ventilation. If there is no heat build up then there will be nothing to see.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to d-green For This Useful Post:

Axx (07-06-13)

Thanks